The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship: Communicating Science & Improving Care

About the Fellowship

The MAYDAY Fund has long encouraged pain experts to assume public leadership roles to help end human suffering from pain through public discourse about research, best practices in care and policy. From 2004 to 2015, this public engagement and leadership training was provided through the “Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship: A Media and Policy Initiative,” which provided 60 Fellows with communication and public outreach skills. This initiative was based on the belief that experts would  increase their effectiveness in advancing the field of pain management and ensuring better care for patients by enhancing  their communication skills.

Building on this experience, The MAYDAY Fund is launching a new Fellowship in 2018 to build the next generation of pain experts who can provide evidence-based and solutions-focused information about pain care and treatment, as well as promising research emerging in the field.

The new Fellowship will provide a three-day communication workshop in Washington, D.C., for clinicians and researchers based in the United States or Canada who are passionate about improving pain care and who are dedicated to building communications skills and strategies aimed to reduce human suffering from acute and chronic pain. The Fund will seek applicants working on research and evidence-based approaches to advance what is known about pain and how to best care for it. Targeted work  might include: sharing critical research on the science of pain and on emerging evidence-based treatments, fixes to how pain is addressed in the health care system, training for frontline clinicians, sharing critical research on the science of pain and on emerging evidence-based treatments, and on addressing the disparities in care.

The application criteria and Fellowship requirements are included in the application below.

Training & Coaching

Once selected, Fellows will participate in a three-day training workshop to be held in Washington, D.C. Following the workshop, each Fellow will be provided with five hours of coaching support from a member of the coaching faculty at Burness to identify communications activities that they will complete within one year of the training.

There are no tuition costs. All travel, seminars, and communications coaching will be covered by The MAYDAY Fund.

Advisory Committee

A multi-disciplinary Advisory Committee, comprising leaders working in the United States and Canada, will evaluate applicants with a clear passion for communicating evidence-based pain management strategies or research on basic and translational science to address pain. The Committee seeks those who want to bring their expertise to bear on public discourse, policy discussions, or in support of more research to improve knowledge about and  access to pain treatment.

Christine Chambers, PhD, RPsych
Canada Research Chair in Children’s Pain; Killam Professor, Departments of Pediatrics and Psychology & Neuroscience, Dalhousie University & IWK Health Centre; 2012 Mayday Fellow

Karen Davis, PhD
Professor, Department of Surgery and Institute of Medical Science, University of Toronto; Head, Division of Brain, Imaging and Behaviour-Systems Neuroscience, Krembil Research Institute, Toronto Western Hospital, University Health Network; 2013 Mayday Fellow

Renee Manworren, PhD, APRN, FAAN
Posy and Fred Love Chair in Nursing Research, Director of Nursing Research and Professional Practice, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine; 2012 Mayday Fellow

Steven Stanos, DO
Medical Director, Swedish Health System Pain Medicine and Services, Seattle, WA

Cary Reid, MD, PhD
The Irving Sherwood Wright Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Cornell’s Translational Research Institute on Pain in Later Life, Division of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, Weill Cornell Medical College

Gregory Terman, MD, PhD
Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine and the Graduate Program in Neuroscience, University of Washington; 2011 Mayday Fellow

Apply Now

The application period for the 2019 Fellowship is now closed. Check back here for the announcement of the 2019 Fellowship class and details on the 2020 application period.

Press Materials
  • View the press release announcing the 2019-20 Mayday Fellowship application here.
  • View the press release announcing the 2018-19 Mayday Fellows here.

Mayday Fellows

2018-19 Mayday Fellows

Katherine Barsness, MD, MS
Associate Professor of Surgery and Medical Education, Ann and Robert H Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Robert Bonakdar, MD, FACN, FAAFP
Director of Pain Management, Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine

Fiona Campbell, BSc, MD
FRCA Department of Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, The Hospital for Sick Children; Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesia, University of Toronto

Rachael Coakley, PhD
Director, Clinical Innovation and Outreach in Pain Medicine, Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine; Assistant Professor in Psychology, Department of Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital

Alexandre DaSilva, DDS, DMedSc
Associate Professor, Headache & Orofacial Pain Effort (H.O.P.E.) Lab, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences, University of Michigan School of Dentistry

Andrea D. Furlan, MD, PhD
Scientist, Institute for Work & Health; Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto; Senior Scientist and Physician staff, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, University Health Network (UHN)

Robert Gereau, PhD
Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor of Anesthesiology; Director, Washington University Pain Center Washington University School of Medicine

David K. Lam, MD, DDS, PhD, FRDC, DABOMS
Professor & Chairman, Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery; Professor, Department of Surgery; Director, LITElab, Stony Brook University; Surgeon-Scientist, Stony Brook Cancer Center

Michael Leong, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Stanford Pain Management Center

Cheryl Stucky, PhD
Marvin Wagner Endowed Professor Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy; Director, Pain Division, Neuroscience Research Center, Medical College of Wisconsin

David Walton, BScPT, MSc, PhD
Associate Professor Western University of Canada

Sharon Wrona, DNP, RN-BC, PNP, PMHS, AP-PMN
Administrative Director Comprehensive Pain & Palliative Care Services, Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Past Fellows

You can view a complete list of past Fellows and our Experts Guide here.

This Experts Guide connects you with some of North America’s leading experts in the fields of acute and chronic pain research and management. Experts from the United States and Canada are listed by subject area and by patient population, and are available to take your call for an interview or discussion. They represent a geographically diverse group from the many pain management medical disciplines. All of the experts are part of the Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship Program.